It all began in 1927, with the founding of a rather mundanely named club "The New Club Ltd.", at Sewree on reclaimed land belonging to the port trust. The ground was over grown with weeds and it was difficult to cut the long grass, so it was not very difficult for Mr. Carron, the chief engineer, to persuade the trust to sell 100 acres of it for the purpose of golf at a monthly rental of Rs. 150/-. In 1937, 25 acres were purchased from St. Anthony’s Home Co-operative Society for Rs. 37,000.
In 1943, a large tract of land to the left of the Club House was requisitioned by the Military authorities to house the officers and the men of ‘Combined Operations’. The land was to be de-requisitioned and given back to the club, had it not been for Mr. Morarji Desai - by then probably the Chief Minister, who on hearing of this passed orders for it to be acquired immediately on behalf of the Government. This became a home for the refugees from Sind, whose descendants are still neighbors across the wall which was built later. Mr. T.W. Brough, President of the Club from 1948 to 1950 sold some more land at much less than the market price, a truly generous act.